Lost Treasure

I working on this with singer Drew Wright and filmmaker Minttu Mantynen. Lost Treasure is an unfinished project by The Dawn Cine Group, a 1950s film-making collective from Glasgow with political and social objectives. Working with the 40 minutes of silent black and white footage and the original script, we made a new piece in response to this material and the ideas contained within it, many or which are live today – including land reform, urbanisation, mechanisation and the workings of the rural economy.

Commissioned by the Glasgow Short Film Festival as the Opening Gala event for the 2016 edition, the film toured with a live score UK-wide. There was coverage in The Guardian, The Wire, The List, Glasgow Film, Product and a couple of pieces on the BBC news. Via this coverage, we were able to meet with some of the relatives of the original group, including the wife of the lead actor William MacGregor (a sprightly 94), their son, and other relatives of the group, many of whom feature in the film as children.

Photo: Jassy Earl

Live screenings

Wednesday 16 Mar 2016
Glasgow Film Theatre
Opening event of Glasgow Short Film Festival

Saturday 16 April 2016
Hippodrome Cinema, Bo’ness

Sunday 17 April 2016
Dundee Contemporary Arts, Dundee

Thursday 21 April 2016
Merlin Cinema, Thurso
(In partnership with Lyth Arts Centre)

Friday 22 April 2016
Timespan, Helmsdale

Saturday 23 April 2016
Eden Court, Inverness

Thursday 28 April 2016
Filmhouse, Edinburgh
(Part of The Folk Film Gathering)

Saturday 13 August
Pittenweem Arts Festival

Thursday 25 August
Lochinver (with Screen Machine)
BFI Britain on Film project in association with Made on Our Land)

Friday 23 September 2016
The Core at Corby
Part of the Nene Valley Festival.

Sun 1 Jan 2017
Playfair Library, Edinburgh
Part of This:Land / Scot:Lands with a live score of John Grierson‘s Drifters from Jason Singh. Presented by A Kind of Seeing.